Plymouth County Sheriff's Office Plymouth County Sheriff's Office Plymouth County Sheriff's Office
Home Press Releases Sex Offenders Most Wanted Contact Us
Sign Up For Alerts
Civil Division
Communications Center
Dive Team
Emergency Mgmt.
Combined Emergency Response Team
History of the Sheriff
Inmate Roster
Road Conditions
Sheriff Sales
Weapon Permits
(712) 546-8191
24 hours

Email Map
451 14th Avenue NE
Le Mars, Iowa 51031
Administrative Office
M-F 8am - 5pm
Combined Emergency Response Team



 SRT new.jpg

           The Tri County Special Response Team (SRT) is a tactical team originally consisting of Officers from the Le Mars Police Department and Deputies from the Plymouth County Sheriff’s Office.  The Plymouth County SRT was formed under the direction of former Plymouth County Sheriff Van Otterloo and former Le Mars Police Chief Stuart Dekkinga in 2000 to provide for the coordination and effective use of departmental resources from both agencies.

The mission of the Plymouth County SRT is to save lives. This has been accomplished through the development of a team that is self-disciplined, experienced and well trained.  Officers assigned to the Plymouth County SRT attend monthly in-house training covering basic and advance firearms, high risk search and arrest warrant execution, vehicle take downs and barricade subject calls.  In addition, Officers also receive training throughout the state of Iowa in advanced firearms, active shooter response and clandestine lab response.  Since its inception, the Plymouth County SRT has not had a serious injury or loss of life to any suspects, victims or team members.

Over the first 11 years, the Plymouth County SRT has responded to an armed barricade subject that had threatened the lives of 2 Plymouth County Deputies, numerous high risk narcotics search warrants where weapons were suspected, 2 active clandestine meth labs, and the execution of several high risk arrest warrants.  In addition, individual team members have assisted outside agencies from the Local, County, State and Federal levels with similar situations.

In October 2010, the Plymouth County SRT began going through a reorganization of the team in an effort to save on money, equipment and man power.  As a result of this process, the Sioux County Sheriff was approached about having members of his department join the team.  In April 2011, the Plymouth County SRT officially welcomed members of the Sioux County Sheriff’s Office onto the team.

In August of 2016, the Cherokee County Sheriff and Cherokee Police Chief were approached about having members of their agencies join the team.  As a result, on July 1, 2017 the team was re-designated Tri County SRT and members of both Cherokee SO and PD were welcomed onto the team.  The team is now made up of 15 officers/deputies from the 5 agencies and responds to calls in Cherokee, Plymouth and Sioux Counties covering a total of 2,250 square miles.

Since April of 2011, the team has successfully resolved 7 armed barricades without loss of life or injury to the suspects, citizens or officers.



1997                Le Mars PD starts a tactical team

1997                Plymouth County SO starts a tactical team

99-00               Le Mars PD and Plymouth County join teams due to man power

April 11            Le Mars PD and Plymouth County invite Sioux County to join team



5 X Plymouth County

3 x Le Mars PD

2x Sioux County

Must volunteer

Must be approved by their bosses

Must pass physical agility and firearms



Basic SWAT course

Firearms instructors’ course

Basic and Advanced firearms training

Active shooter training


Type of calls

Armed barricade w/ and w/out hostage

High risk search and arrest warrants where weapons are expected



3          Firearms instructors

2          Rifle instructors

1          Chemical munitions instructor

2          military with 4 years of combat experience

1          EMT B

2          Meth Lab certified

9          SCBA trained

6          Active shooter training




    Plymouth County Sheriff's Office | © 2022
    Plymouth County, Iowa