Federal Individual Assistance Available to Plymouth County Residents

Federal Individual Assistance Available to Plymouth County Residents
For Immediate Release: June 25, 2024

Plymouth County, IA – As a result of the disastrous flooding in northwest Iowa beginning June 21, 2024 and continuing, Plymouth County has been included in the federal declaration for public and individual assistance President Biden signed on June 24, 2024. The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) and the US Small Business Administration (SBA) are now authorized to provide assistance to Plymouth County.

Plymouth County residents can apply for FEMA’s individual assistance program. There are several ways to do this:
1. Call the disaster assistance hotline at 1-800-621-3362
2. Meet with FEMA Assistance Teams starting tomorrow.
– 9 am to 4:30 pm 6/26-6/28 (subject to change)
Lower level of the Plymouth County Courthouse Annex
215 4th Ave SE, Le Mars, IA 51031
3. Speak with FEMA Assistance Teams as they canvass the affected areas

FEMA representatives will have official credentials with their name and picture.
Residents displaced from Clay, Emmet, Lyon, and Sioux counties staying in Plymouth County may call the hotline or meet with teams at the Annex.
Businesses and nonprofit organizations whose property was damaged or destroyed by this disaster, may be able to apply for low-interest disaster loans from the SBA. In addition, small businesses, agricultural cooperatives, and private, nonprofit organizations impacted by the severe weather may be eligible to apply for working capital loans.

For more information on Recovery Assistance, visit:
Facebook, Plymouth County Iowa Emergency Management
Iowa Disaster Recovery, https://www.iowa.gov/iowa-disaster-recovery
FEMA Assistance, DisasterAssistance.gov
Small Business Administration, www.sba.gov/funding-programs/disaster-assistance

Rebecca Socknat, Plymouth County EMA
Phone: (712) 546-8101